Off-Syllabus Links: Week of September 6, 2015

Here is a round-up of bookish links for the week:

This piece on writers Dodie Bellamy and Eileen Myles gave me a lot of interesting things to think about regarding gender, transgressive art, and forms of creative nonfiction. (A warning: the language is pretty adult.)

I’ve been trying to explore different genre writing more (it’s probably the area of literature I have the least experience in, and it’s so vast!), and one of the genres I’ve been interested in lately is Young Adult fiction. I couldn’t resist this quiz, which recommends a YA book based on your favorite Disney princess.

It turns out I’m a bigger fan of comics publisher Drawn and Quarterly than I realized. The Millions wrote an interesting article on their upcoming anthology, which celebrates 25 years of work.

And finally, not to overwhelm you with Disney and comics geekery, but I wholeheartedly agree with everything Christine Hoxmeier wrote in her list of Disney attractions that should be comics (the Haunted Mansion idea especially).

Leave a Reply

