Off-Syllabus Link List: Week of September 13, 2015

Here is a round-up of bookish links for the week:

Valeria Luiselli has been on my to-read list for a while, but this profile makes me really wish I had been quicker to read her so I could be one of the “smart friends” of yours talking about her.

I’m so excited that authors are using twitter as a new form of fiction. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy in a “we are all just storytellers painting on our cave walls” sort of way.

I’m pretty new to serious genre reading, but the genre I’m probably the least familiar with is romance. But this profile of Christina Lauren, the name used by authors Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings when they write books together, makes me think I need to get a jump on it (and certainly gives me a good entry point). I really enjoyed reading this piece. It celebrates fandom and collaboration, and is an excellent example of Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman’s Shine Theory (which is also completely worth reading about if you’re unfamiliar).

Leave a Reply

